« Back to News

Four jurisdictions sign agreement in Atlanta; full communion established

Oct 16, 2017


Bishops from four Continuing jurisdictions (ACA, ACC, APA, DHC) sign agreement of full communion.

The Earlier this month in Atlanta, representatives from ACA, ACC, APA, and DHC witnessed their chief bishops sign a concordat establishing full communion.  This represents a significant step towards their stated goal of organic unity. The text of this historic document is as follows:

We acknowledge each other to be orthodox and catholic Anglicans in virtue of our common adherence to the authorities accepted by and summarized in the Affirmation of St. Louis in the faith of the Holy Tradition of the undivided Catholic Church and of the seven Ecumenical Councils.

We recognize in each other in all essentials the same faith; the same sacraments; the same moral teaching; and the same worship; likewise, we recognize in each other the same Holy Orders of bishops, priests, and deacons in the same Apostolic Succession, insofar as we all share the episcopate conveyed to the Continuing Churches in Denver in January 1978 in response to the call of the Congress of Saint Louis; therefore,

We welcome members of all of our Churches to Holy Communion and parochial life in any and all of the congregations of our Churches; and,

We pledge to pursue full, institutional, and organic union with each other, in a manner that respects tender consciences, builds consensus and harmony, and fulfills increasingly our Lord’s will that His Church be united; and,

We pledge also to seek unity with other Christians, including those who understand themselves to be Anglican, insofar as such unity is consistent with the essentials of Catholic faith, order, and moral teaching.


The Most Rev. Brian R. Marsh
The Most Rev. Mark D. Haverland
The Most Rev. Walter H. Grundorf
The Rt. Rev. Paul C. Hewett

For more on this story and others like it, see the upcoming issue of The Trinitarian.

Tagged: communio in sacris, aca, acc, apa, dhc, atlanta